Trying to have a life and fibromyalgia gets in the way, sometimes

So I’m due at a 3 day festival this weekend.  I have a nice warm comfy camper to sleep in but the constant rain does cause havoc on my already fragile spine and fibromyalgia.  Last year was torrential rain and flooding for the whole weekend.  At this moment I don’t want to go I am so fatigued I hurt all over, even blinking hurts and writing this on my phone hurts.  I have 0 energy and today I spent my lunch break laid in the back of my camper in the car park at work just with my eyes closed resting.


The fatigue is crippling.  The constant rain is making my nervous system very over sensitive and I just want to curl up in bed for a couple of days.

I went to a gig at the weekend and I was having a great time watching a band I bought my husband tickets for last Christmas but I was overconfident and drank more than my upper limit of 3 beers and the 7 hour round trip has given me crippling fatigue, muscle and body aches and an awful headache.  I cannot make conversation and nothing is easing the pain.  It always takes 2 days to kick in.

I have to go to London for 2 days for work tomorrow and quite frankly I’m dreading it as I’m already feeling like I have the flu, I don’t it’s a flare up.

I need to focus my mind, think positive, it will pass.  I know I can do the festival I just need to do it on my terms.  Thankfully we have a couple of friends coming with us to keep my husband entertained so I can have plenty of rest.

No one knows how fatigue feels with fibro it’s like just starting off with flu and having the worst hangover ever and you also fell downstairs the day before so you feel bruised all over and it hurts to touch skin, I reckon that sums it up.  

It takes an hour to get in the bath that someone else to run for you then you have to rest after you’ve had a bath as your energy has gone ūüėā

So I’m going to get straight into bed and do some mindfulness and get focused.  Mind over matter.  I can get through London think of it as a mini break and the festival a holiday!! 

I can then moan some more next week and feel sorry for myself even more!

Author: Maz Brown

Hi there, I am a busy mum who had found a new lease in life by completing my diploma in Hypnotherapy and NLP and led a successful part-time online hypnotherapy business, preparing personalised online recordings and using tried and tested NLP techniques as homework for my clients. I found out I had advanced degenerative disease in my spine over 10 years ago and needed a fusion in March 2014, it was then that things got really weird. It took me over 2 years to get diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and that is when the fun started........

Leave a Reply

