Learnt to love Fibromyalgia 

I feel like I’ve lost 3 years of my life to being ill; gave up my job and chosen career path, stopped my hobbies, quit lifting weights, lots of friends lost, nights out cancelled, holidays abroad cancelled, hypnotherapy business closed.

It is easy to read that and get depressed but what’s the point, seriously what’s the point?  I can’t change anything in the past, I can only shape the present.  I’m not even worrying about the future either, I really don’t care that much as I know the plans I make in the present will shape my future, anything I cannot control I’m not even thinking about.

Whilst my husband was in bed New Years Eve with flu I made a pact with my body, no more will I bow down to fibromyalgia, I will learn to love this condition and I will do the things I want to do (within reason) and whilst I was thinking this I realised that there has been some positives in the last 3 years that I would never have been through if I hadn’t have developed this condition; learning to say no to others, putting myself first, letting go off toxic people, moving into a better local job and no more travelling 3/4 days a week.   Practising mindfulness meditation and yoga.  Ditching all my regular medications, eating healthier, quitting regular alcohol drinking, reconnecting with lost friends.  Learning holistic therapies to use on myself.  Recruiting a masseuse for fortnightly treatments.  Finding my super fibromyalgia supplements from USA that have made me feel better than I’ve felt for years!


Our minds always focus on the negatives in a bad situation but if you look hard enough there’s always a positive.  

This year is going to be amazing and I’m going to keep it healthy and make sure I give back my love to my family and friends the support I’ve needed over the past 3 1/2 years since my back operation.

It’s took a year of changes to every aspect of my life to get me here but I have proved that I can learn to love Fibromyalgia ❤️

Author: Maz Brown

Hi there, I am a busy mum who had found a new lease in life by completing my diploma in Hypnotherapy and NLP and led a successful part-time online hypnotherapy business, preparing personalised online recordings and using tried and tested NLP techniques as homework for my clients. I found out I had advanced degenerative disease in my spine over 10 years ago and needed a fusion in March 2014, it was then that things got really weird. It took me over 2 years to get diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and that is when the fun started........

Leave a Reply

