Fibromyalgia worsened by negative thinking

This should come as no surprise to anyone right?  I recently decided to come off several online support groups as I personally found that commiserating with others was actually making me feel worse and very negative about my personal situation of living with this condition.  That’s my personal choice and I’m sure others have felt the same on many occasions.

I’m a very positive individual and this condition has really pushed my resilience to the maximum.  I use a number of techniques to help me through the tough times that I’d like to share………..

Laughing is a great free medicine and even when I’m having a flare up I have a collection of comedians that I know when I put them on to watch I’ll end up crying with laughter, this releases endorphins and increases my pain threshold.

Mindfulness Meditation; closing my eyes and deep breathing in through my nose and out through my mouth whilst undertaking a full body scan down from my head to my feet, taking in all the feelings from my body, not judging just acknowledging them and continuing to move on.  I do this very slowly over about 5-10 minutes.

Mindfulness walking, no phone nothing, just walking, deep breathing and taking in the air and enjoying that particular moment, taking in the sights and sounds.  Clearing my mind.

Repeating positive affirmations in my mind, out loud and even on paper, for example; I love my body, I am feeling healthier every day, I am loved, I love life, I feel great etc oh and the most important one first thing in a morning is I am going to have a great day today.

Undertaking mindfulness yoga it’s so relaxing and really helps my stiffness and pain.  Search on YouTube there are loads of free workouts ūüĎć

When I’m feeling negative and stressed all of my symptoms feel worse so it is important that I keep positive and use a wide range of techniques.  What do you do?  Read more about research here 

Author: Maz Brown

Hi there, I am a busy mum who had found a new lease in life by completing my diploma in Hypnotherapy and NLP and led a successful part-time online hypnotherapy business, preparing personalised online recordings and using tried and tested NLP techniques as homework for my clients. I found out I had advanced degenerative disease in my spine over 10 years ago and needed a fusion in March 2014, it was then that things got really weird. It took me over 2 years to get diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and that is when the fun started........

Leave a Reply

