Fibromyalgia, Insomnia and Depression

If you don’t sleep well, have you ever noticed how sad you feel the next day when you have fibromyalgia?  Every little thing that doesn’t go my way is like the end of the world.  I hate everyone that doesn’t have this condition and I don’t have any interest in doing anything.

The thing is with this condition it’s like it amplifies everything; emotions, pain, light, sound, everything.  It’s like I’ve forgotten how to laugh at things.  

Constant insomnia is very bad for your mind and body especially with fibromyalgia, not only can it cause your mood to dip but it can increase nom specific pain, tingling, restless legs, body temperature regulation and it steals your sense of humour.


I’ve tried meditating today and I can’t sit still as I have restless legs which I also have in my arms too.  so I went for a walk to see if I could use mindfulness techniques as I was walking, it did help.  I came back with a clear head.

Positive affirmation we also a great way to snap out of the doom and gloom thinking.  But out loud don’t just say it in your head!!  Sat out loud:-

  • I am getting healthier
  • I am happy
  • I love my body 
  • I love me
  • I am loved
  • I am improving every day

I am sure you can think of many more?

So tonight it’s time to have a red hot Magnesium bath, do some gentle mindfulness yoga and meditate in the best position I can even if that’s sitting up, moving it standing!

Author: Maz Brown

Hi there, I am a busy mum who had found a new lease in life by completing my diploma in Hypnotherapy and NLP and led a successful part-time online hypnotherapy business, preparing personalised online recordings and using tried and tested NLP techniques as homework for my clients. I found out I had advanced degenerative disease in my spine over 10 years ago and needed a fusion in March 2014, it was then that things got really weird. It took me over 2 years to get diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and that is when the fun started........

Leave a Reply

