There is a positive to Fibromyalgia 

I haven’t written on here for a while!  I don’t think the excuse I have is a good enough one but I’ll explain.

I always try to look for a positive in every situation no matter how ‘shit’ 

2 weeks ago I was awoken in the very early hours of Saturday morning with a deep pain in the lower right hand side of my abdomen.  It remained all weekend, I had no energy and late on Sunday my bladder felt like it was going to explode and I needed to urinate every ten minutes or so.  Sunday night I did not sleep at all and I rang in sick Monday morning.  I remained off sick on Tuesday too and I didn’t feel any better.  I went into the doctors where I was given a water infection test but it returned negative and the 3 days worth of antibiotics did not make any difference.   On Wednesday I attempted to go to work but on my return home I telephoned the emergency doctor as the bladder pressure worsened and my stomach was swollen.

I managed to get an appointment at 9PM my neighbour gave me a lift as my husband wasn’t home.  The doctor wanted to me to attend hospital with a suspected appendicitis. I was admitted at 11pm and taken to a ward at 2.30am with a very swollen stomach.


I spent the next 6 days in what I can only describe as hell!  Treat like a burden, over stressed nurses playing god with pain relief, generally backbiting at patients and at times being abusive.  Yes I did complain to the nurses and the matron.

The doctors were supposed to give me an emergency scan, I got one, after 48 hours, then it took another 3 days to give me a cat scan with dye injected in my arm.  Because I was on morphine I was full of gas so it was difficult for the ultrasound to work and the interval ultrasound only worked as I had to press on the top of my stomach and it was then we spotted a cyst on my ovary.

The Gynaecologist wouldn’t touch it as she said it had to be over 5cm even though I was in agony, my bladder affected, my bowels too and I only slept 5 hours in 6 nights total.  I was made to feel  like a hypochondriac and sent home with a one week sick note and a massive bag of tablets.  Then 2 days later I got a 2 week dick note and the reason was the cyst, ha so I wasn’t making it up!

Now I know I’m lucky as I’ve got private Heathcare through work and whilst I was in hospital I managed to get hold of my pain consultant who had treated my right SI Joint with injections. He confirmed he had suspected I had endometriosis and introduced me to his friend a private Gynaecologist at Thornbury where I had my fusion.  They squeezed me in the day I got released from hospital and I am now booked in for a colonoscopy to remove the cyst and anything else that shouldn’t be there.  Screw you NHS.

Now if I didn’t have fibromyalgia I probably wouldn’t have felt what was going on inside me for quite some time, I take it as a blessing that I am able to get this treated early and that’s my positive of having fibromyalgia! 

Plus don’t let the doctors gob you off and put every ailment down to Fibromyalgia you know you’re body better than anyone.

Author: Maz Brown

Hi there, I am a busy mum who had found a new lease in life by completing my diploma in Hypnotherapy and NLP and led a successful part-time online hypnotherapy business, preparing personalised online recordings and using tried and tested NLP techniques as homework for my clients. I found out I had advanced degenerative disease in my spine over 10 years ago and needed a fusion in March 2014, it was then that things got really weird. It took me over 2 years to get diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and that is when the fun started........

Leave a Reply

