Camping and fibromyalgia 

I have a campervan, it’s a T5 ex courier van my husband and I converted into a camper, a 4 birth complete with pop top, lower double bed, full kitchen, fridge freezer and cupboard space.  Leisure battery and blackout windows and blinds.

I love my van


I did not fancy doing much fancy this weekend so we decided to go camping to Buxton (half hour drive away).  It is tiring with this condition but we cope well.

I still undertake my daily meditation but no mindfulness yoga as I tend to do lots of walking which makes me tired.  It’s important to keep warm so I layer up especially at night and I do try to eat healthy.

I may treat myself to an extra coffee ☕️ in the morning and I found somewhere that made homemade gluten free carrot cake 🎂yummy!  

I did over 12000 steps which did tire me out and I treat myself to a steak meal but it was locally sourced from a farm and not some prewarmed crap.

The only mistake I made was having 2 shandys which I felt the sugar kept me awake a little and I didn’t eat my breakfast within 2 hours of waking, it was close to 4.  By the time I got to eat I was freezing cold, felt like I had flu, could barely talk and had awful lower back pain (I always feel it in my fusion).  Within 15 minutes of eating I was warm, the aching had gone and my mood lifted.  I was actually crying eating my food I felt so ill.

You can go out and have fun with fibromyalgia but you have to learn your boundaries and stick well within them.

I must eat within 2 hours of waking and every 3 hours when awake, even if it’s just a healthy snack. If not I get extremely cold, feel like I’m getting the flu, cannot concentrate, communicate or even think straight.  My lower back, hip and right leg hurt real bad (all my weak pre and post operative areas).  My skin hurts to touch and clothes or wind blowing the hair on my body actually hurt me!

Overactivity brings on exhaustion but by me not giving my body the food and drink it needs for energy makes me very very ill.  This may not be the same for you but once you find out what that golden ticket is it’s like a revelation and for me its natural healthy food and plenty of water, minimum of 3 litres a day.

I have posted this site before but this list works for me here

Author: Maz Brown

Hi there, I am a busy mum who had found a new lease in life by completing my diploma in Hypnotherapy and NLP and led a successful part-time online hypnotherapy business, preparing personalised online recordings and using tried and tested NLP techniques as homework for my clients. I found out I had advanced degenerative disease in my spine over 10 years ago and needed a fusion in March 2014, it was then that things got really weird. It took me over 2 years to get diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and that is when the fun started........

Leave a Reply

