Chronic fatigue and feeling angry

I average around 4 hours sleep every night which when I get in the number 5 is a cause for celebration in this house ūüíź. I have a pretty good routine:-

  • A hot bath with magnesium flakes and organic bubbles
  • No tv for a minimum of 1 hour before bed.
  • If I use my phone to update my Facebook page and blog I wear my uv glasses.
  • I only have one coffee before 7am
  • I don’t drink alcohol
  • I keep my room well ventilated with a temperature of around 19 degrees
  • My curtains are black and my walls painted dark
  • I wear ear plugs so no noise can wake me up
  • I sleep naked so I am not restricted by clothes
  • I never eat at least 2 hours before bed
  • I mindfully meditate daily before bed and every other day I undertake mindfulness yoga 
  • I have a lavender plant in my bedroom and place some fresh inside my pillow each night
  • I don’t drink water too close to bed so as not to wake in the night for the bathroom 
  • I have no switched on electrical items in the bedroom

I think that I have a pretty strict routine before bed and I really do feel that this has helped me wake up over the past 3 months feeling more refreshed than I have done in the previous 2 years.  But when it gets to about the 5th day of only have 3-4 hours sleep 15-20 hours in total over a working week I start to lose the will to live.  I cannot concentrate, I’m tired, have no energy, my cognitive behaviour starts to suffer.  I hate everyone and everything.  The fake smiles I have to put on at work, people asking me if I’m ok and I nod and say yeah I’m great (when all I want to do is shout out loud NO I AM FUCKING NOT!).

I do know that if I could ramp up my exercise and tire myself out more I’d sleep better, but how can I do that when I exercise then I literally struggle to go to work.  Pacing ah yes good old pacing.  I’m logging down what I do, how I feel etc but each day is different from the next which makes things a little difficult to track.  Some days I can sit for hours others minutes before I get pain.

I feel like I’m having some sort of mental crash, possibly from coming off citalopram and Amitryptyline?  Delayed reaction?  I’ve been off them 2 weeks.

Does anyone know of how I can get more sleep without resorting to regular medications?  Am I missing some vital information?

Author: Maz Brown

Hi there, I am a busy mum who had found a new lease in life by completing my diploma in Hypnotherapy and NLP and led a successful part-time online hypnotherapy business, preparing personalised online recordings and using tried and tested NLP techniques as homework for my clients. I found out I had advanced degenerative disease in my spine over 10 years ago and needed a fusion in March 2014, it was then that things got really weird. It took me over 2 years to get diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and that is when the fun started........

Leave a Reply

