Chemicals and stimulus in Fibromyalgia

I am an avid researcher, when I suffered with spinal deformities I researched it to death knowing I needed a fusion even before it was proven with an X Ray/MRI as I bent in unusual positions and images were took of my lower spine.

I guess if I’m being honest I knew I had Fibromyalgia before I was diagnosed and I knew it was my twisted spine/operation that brought it into my life.

Since researching this and keeping diaries of physical and psychological changes I have absolutely no doubt they we are super sensitive to chemicals and stimulus:-

Heat, cold, weather changes, stressful situations, noise, medicines and drugs like caffeine, nicotine, alcohol and all the other crisp our doctors tell us to take ‘it will help you’ paaaah no thanks!!  Exhaust fumes and deodorants!  I hate them, any chemical we put near us or in our bodies!!

But what about food, drinks, products we use every day?  Have you ever ate ‘crap processed food’ for a few days and noticed how it makes you feel?  I have.  It disturbs my sleep, my concentration, my digestive system and my moods 100%.

I don’t drink alcohol, I have 1 coffee before 8am and I try to eat as natural as I can, check out some of the contents of something you put in the oven or worse the microwave, I’ve never heard of these things and would certainly not add them to home cooked food.  I’m not scare mongering but when our grandparents were little food was healthy, natural and home cooked and didn’t contain chemicals or additives read more here.  Is there any wonder more and more people are getting obese or ill and with Fibromyalgia I beg you to check out what you put into your body.  Would put crap into your car?  So why our bodies?

I have followed an 80% 20% rule for about the last 5 years of eating Paleo.  As near to natural as possible, in other words we use fresh veg, meat and fish as often as possible with a few wholewheat additions.  We batch cook and store in the fridge/freezer for when my husband is away and make our own TV dinners but it all goes in the oven.  The microwave has gone in the bin.  I lost a stone in weight from my Underactive thyroid by learning how to cook, not use ‘stuff’ ladened with chemicals.

Here’s another example, I just took a bath and checked out my body scrub and shampoo and conditioners 

What is that all about? Time for some changes I think.  You may think I am being over the top but ask yourself one question would you buy these chemicals off the Internet and eat or rub them on your skin? Of course not.

It’s no secret Fibromyalgia is affected in a negative way by chemicals and stimulus so if we cut them down or ideally eliminate them would we not feel much healthier and well normal?

Quite frankly I would try anything and I am it’s all going in the bin and I’ll see what else I can use.

Read here for scientific studies of chemicals/stimulus affecting Fibro

Author: Maz Brown

Hi there, I am a busy mum who had found a new lease in life by completing my diploma in Hypnotherapy and NLP and led a successful part-time online hypnotherapy business, preparing personalised online recordings and using tried and tested NLP techniques as homework for my clients. I found out I had advanced degenerative disease in my spine over 10 years ago and needed a fusion in March 2014, it was then that things got really weird. It took me over 2 years to get diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and that is when the fun started........

Leave a Reply

