Fibromyalgia and exercise

I read this article on the Internet here and found the advice to be very good.

I used to be extremely fit, lifting heavier weights than my husband even!! I’d work out 6 times a week and could burn upto 1000 calories an hour, I used to eat a lot of protein and complex carbs to keep the energy levels up.  Since I’ve been in constant pain it has been hard as Fibromyalgia increases my exercise soreness to the extreme.  I literally feel like I have flu.

The more exercise a person does the stronger we become and that means the less tired we get undertaking normal activities.  I switched from interval training and weights to nothing and boy did I feel like death.  I had more stiffness, aching, felt more tired after just pottering around and I felt more stressed, less endorphins!!

I decided to restart yoga, mindfulness yoga, managed 2 x 20 minute sessions this week, one day on and one day off etc.  I also forced myself to go swimming today after work.  I only did 8 lengths, s far cry from the 40 I used to do about 4 years ago.  I am hurting now but I feel happy I went and I know tomorrow I will ache but I just need to remember why; it’s my body’s way of telling me I did some good and I might have a tough day tomorrow but the long term benefits of exercising outweight the negative.

I’ve included a picture of my Fitbit page to show you how it helps me track my day. Last night was one of the best sleeps I have had, over 5 hours with less thrashing around (check out the blue lines), I hit all my goals apart from steps, but that’s ok because I’ve been swimming.


My calories are still quite low but that is okay.  I’ve ate plenty of low calorie food today I certainly haven’t starved myself.  

Author: Maz Brown

Hi there, I am a busy mum who had found a new lease in life by completing my diploma in Hypnotherapy and NLP and led a successful part-time online hypnotherapy business, preparing personalised online recordings and using tried and tested NLP techniques as homework for my clients. I found out I had advanced degenerative disease in my spine over 10 years ago and needed a fusion in March 2014, it was then that things got really weird. It took me over 2 years to get diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and that is when the fun started........

4 thoughts on “Fibromyalgia and exercise”

Leave a Reply

