Heat and pain go together like pea and carrots!

I feel so strongly for using heat for pain from my fusion, disintegrated disc at L5/L4 or general Fibro aches I feel I should have a soap box to stand on.

Right now I’ve ditched regular painkillers and I am trying a holistic approach to pain management.  It is tempting to eat painkillers and I will only resort to this should the pain develop into a full on Fibro attack (all over aches and pains). What I prefer to use is a hot water water bottle, yes at work.


I get used to the strange looks, but mainly people are great about it when they see me stood in the kitchen filling this up.  I had to buy a bigger, brand new bottle as the last one read ‘hot stuff’ 😂😂😂

I won’t bore you with the science, but please read here if you’re like me and need to understand the ‘why’.

I used to take over 25 painkillers prior to my back operation and when the Fibromyalgia attacks started it was back up to 15 plus a day, not all the same brand I must add 😂😂.   I have now decided to sporadically take them, in other words when I need to.  I had this crazy doctor that told me to take them all in a regular basis to keep the pain away, which is fine, but when you have Fibromyalgia everything you do affects your nervous system and can have catastrophic results.

For now I am happy with my hot water bottle and my one Tramadol tablet I just had!!

Author: Maz Brown

Hi there, I am a busy mum who had found a new lease in life by completing my diploma in Hypnotherapy and NLP and led a successful part-time online hypnotherapy business, preparing personalised online recordings and using tried and tested NLP techniques as homework for my clients. I found out I had advanced degenerative disease in my spine over 10 years ago and needed a fusion in March 2014, it was then that things got really weird. It took me over 2 years to get diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and that is when the fun started........

Leave a Reply

