Mindfulness course run by the NHS

Yes that is right.  I asked the doctor to refer me to a Psychologist as I was struggling to understand why my mind was acting like it was, clearly not understanding how the nervous system works or how it controls the brain at this point I was sh@t scared of my thoughts!  It was the best thing I ever did, I spent 90 minutes crying my eyes out and felt wretched and he didn’t tell me anything I already knew but he offered me 2 things:-

  • A mindfulness course running over an 8-10 week period
  • Counselling

I accepted both.

To cut a long story short counselling was out of the question as I was either the wrong age group or my condition didn’t have any counsellors, I could be placed on a waiting list but there was over 400 people on it.  Seriously!  But I was offered a chance to become one myself.  What a great idea I could become a Fibromyalgia counsellor but I needed to concentrate on myself first.

I did get a place on the Mindfulness course and started today.  I have been lent a book to read :-

I have homework yippee!!

I also met another lady with Fibromyalgia!!

I have done lots of research into Fibromyalgia and by no means am I a doctor but I’m also not stupid!!  Pumping someone with a nervous system disorder does not cure the illness it’s just a way to mask the symptoms.  Now what if I could get the symptoms under control and happily healthy life without resorting to pumping myself full of medications that well, affect the nervous system, using a holistic approach, after all holistic and homeopathic medicine has no side effects?

This is where Mindfulness comes in.  You can read all about it here.  We can train our bodies to become stronger and cope with tremendous amounts of pain but we just ignore our brain, the mind, our mental health.

Mindfulness is easy but it takes practise and dedication, it isn’t a quick fix.  Did you know that the brain can release chemicals that are stronger than morphine called beta-endorphins, don’t believe me then research the science here.

Why don’t more of us that suffer one of the primary symptoms of Fibromyalgia; chronic pain use the power of our brains to deal with the pain?  

Because it takes knowledge and practise.  Trust me I know.  I have to take Oramorph for a headache or it ends up becoming a migraine and I end up in A&E!!  But what if I could use my brain and mind to help me cope with the pain or better still, control the Fibromyalgia in the first place?  Well that’s why I am on the mindfulness course.  

Of course Fibromyalgia cannot be cured but it can be controlled, it all depends on the mind, not in a bottle of pills.

You may be thinking jeez she’s full of bull…. but it is my opinion and after suffering horrific side effects from medications I am willing to try anything!

Author: Maz Brown

Hi there, I am a busy mum who had found a new lease in life by completing my diploma in Hypnotherapy and NLP and led a successful part-time online hypnotherapy business, preparing personalised online recordings and using tried and tested NLP techniques as homework for my clients. I found out I had advanced degenerative disease in my spine over 10 years ago and needed a fusion in March 2014, it was then that things got really weird. It took me over 2 years to get diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and that is when the fun started........

2 thoughts on “Mindfulness course run by the NHS”

  1. Wow! Great to read about how excited you are with the mindfulness and CBT. A lot of patients I see get referred there and although the waiting list if long it’s sooooo with it. Everyone can benefit from learning these techniques, even people with no health problems!

    Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

